Maharashtra Government Wins Floor Test

Uddhav Thakrey, Chief Minister, Maharashtra

The Uddhav Thakrey led Maharashtra state government was able to win the floor test conducted on Saturday.  The government led by Thackeray under the ‘ ‘Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi’ was able to secure the support of 169 MLA’s out of the total capacity of 288 in the Assembly. Maharashtra Vikas Aghadi is an Alliance of Shiv Sena, Indian National Congress and Nationalist Congress Party, between the three of them it secured the support of 154 MLA’s, 15 MLA’s from smaller parties and independent MLA’s also supported the government.

The Shiv Sena had 56 seats, the NCP secured 54, and Indian National Congress emerged victorious in 44 seats. 105 MLA’s of BJP protested against the floor test and staged a walk out from the Assembly. The BJP expressed its displeasure that the house was not following the assembly’s convention of commencing its functions with ‘Vande Mataram’ and ending with the national anthem.

Related posts

PM Modi meets Nobel Laureate Banerjee Bureau

TRAI extends DTH,cable TV switching deadlines by 31 March

Rohit Mitra

Constable Monali Jadhav bags 3 medals at World Police Games Bureau

Leave a Comment