Jaipur is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site

Jaipur is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site

Pink City Jaipur which is world famous for its iconic architectural legacy and vibrant culture, has finally made its entry into the UNESCO World Heritage Site list. The decision was taken at the 43rd session of the World Heritage Committee of UNESCO at Baku in Azerbaijan. 

With the inclusion of Jaipur, India now has 38 World Heritage properties, that include 30 Cultural properties, 7 Natural properties and one mixed site.

According to the Ministry of Culture nations that supported India’s nomination included Brazil, China, Bahrain, Cuba, Indonesia, Kuwait, Kyrghystan, Zimbabwe and Uganda. Prime Minister Narendra Modi has expressed his joy at Jaipur’s inclusion at the World Heritage Site list.  In a tweet, he described Jaipur as a city associated with culture and valour. 

The historic walled city of Jaipur was founded in 1727 AD under the patronage of Sawai Jai Singh – II. It serves as the capital city of the culturally-rich state of Rajasthan. 

The World Heritage Committee is composed of representatives of 21 States Parties to the World Heritage Convention who meet annually. One thousand 92 sites in 167 countries have been inscribed on the World Heritage List.

Hawa Mahel, Jaipur, India

Related posts

J & K, Ladakh Union Territories Come into Being Bureau

Raising of Temple Causes Outrage Bureau

Additional Financial assistance for Karnataka and Bihar to Tackle Flood Situation Bureau

Leave a Comment