17 sites in 12 Clusters being developed as Iconic Tourism Sites

17 sites in 12 Clusters being developed as Iconic Tourism Sites

The Ministry of Tourism has identified 17 sites in 12 clusters in the country for development as Iconic Tourism Sites namely Hampi (Karnataka),  Mahabalipuram (Tamil Nadu), Ajanta & Ellora (Maharashtra), Taj Mahal & Fatehpur Sikri (Uttar Pradesh), Humayun’s Tomb, Red Fort and Qutub Minar (Delhi), Colva (Goa), Somnath & Dholavira (Gujarat),  Amer Fort (Rajasthan), Khajuraho (Madhya Pradesh),  Kaziranga (Assam), Kumarakom (Kerala) and Mahabodhi Temple (Bihar).

The Ministry shall be developing the above sites in collaboration with the Central Ministries, State Governments and Local Bodies, in a holistic manner, with focus on issues concerning connectivity to the destination, better facilities/experience for the tourists at the site, skill development, involvement of local community, promotion & branding and by bringing private investment.

The information was given by Minister of State (I/C) for Culture and Tourism, Shri Prahlad Singh Patel in reply to a question in Rajya Sabha.

Fatehpur Sikri, Uttar Pradesh

Related posts

Severe cold wave in Northern India to impact Tourism Sector – PHD Chamber Bureau

Sri Lanka Tourism Launches Special Packages for Indian tourists Bureau

Hospitality Industry Gets a Shot in the Arm Bureau

Leave a Comment