J & K, Ladakh Union Territories Come into Being

jammu kashmir

Two new Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh came into existence as the central government revoked the President’s rule which was imposed on 19th December, 2018. Both the UT’s are set to have Lieutenant Governors being sworn in later today, G.C. Murmu would be the LG for Jammu and Kashmir whereas R.K. Mathur would take charge of Ladakh.  
Central rule was imposed in Jammu and Kashmir on June of 2017 after the then Chief Minister Mehbooba Mufti resigned when the BJP withdrew support to the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) led government.

On August 5 this year the parliament decided to revoke the Article 370 of the constitution which gave special status to the state of Jammu and Kashmir and also decided to split the state into two union territories on October 31, 2019

Related posts

Sushil Chandra appointed as new Election Commissioner of India Bureau

Rishi Kumar Shukla appointed as new CBI director

Rohit Mitra

Not Here to Interfere in Internal matters of India: EU Lawmakers Bureau

Leave a Comment