Sri Lanka: Mahinda Rajapaksa is Sworn in as PM

Mahida Rajapakshya being sworn in as the PM

Mahinda Rajapaksa has been sworn in as the Prime Minister as after Ranil Wickremsinghe tendered his resignation. He was sworn in by newly elected President Gotabaya Rajapksa, his younger brother. Wickremsinghe stated that though his government has a majority in Parliament, it was prudent to respect the mandate given to Gotabaya Rajapaksa and demit office.

A 15-member cabinet is slated to be sworn in tomorrow. Mahinda Rajapaksa has served two terms as President between 2005 to 2015 and is ineligible from contesting Presidential elections because of a two-term limit.

Mahinda Rajapaksa’s caretaker government does not have a majority in parliament and will carry on till parliamentary elections are held.

According to the constitution, parliament cannot be dissolved till February 2020 unless 2/3rd of members pass a resolution to this effect. Ranil Wickremsinghe’s United National Party (UNP) has written to the speaker to name him as the leader of opposition. 

Related posts

More than a dozen killed, nearly 150 injured in Kabul blast Bureau

56 Dead due to landslide in Myanmar Bureau

‘Port Construction could lead to Enhanced Military Presence’

Rohit Mitra

Leave a Comment